Core Group Members

Our organisation has a Core Group membership of a maximum of 20 people who support the guiding principles and aims of WaMH in PC to promote and improve primary mental health care across Wales.

Each member is drawn from a range of mental health organisations, services and stakeholder groups in order to encompass as broad a range of views as possible on mental health issues.

They are chosen and elected because of their mental health skills, knowledge, competency and experience with a simple majority of the Core Group needed to gain each post. 

Each member is actively required to contribute to the Core Group's agenda of annual quarterly meetings with absence from three consecutive meetings, without good reason provided to the Chair, leading to loss of their membership. 

To ensure Core Group membership remains fit-for-purpose, members are required to undertake an annual skills, knowledge and competency review.
Members can resign at any time by notifying the Chair with the current membership arrangements taken from the Constitution's Core Group Membership Arrangement.  

For further information about our current Core Group members and their mental health expertise and qualifications please refer to the following links:

  • Ann Evans (Dr) – GP
  • Bernard Boniface - Joint Commissioning Manager (Mental Health and Substance Misuse)
  • David Clarke – Self-employed management consultant
  • Huw Lloyd (Dr) – GP (Retired) Old Colwyn
  • Kathryn Jarvis – Outreach worker for young adult carers
  • Louise Robinson – Campaign Manager Healthcare British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy
  • Marie Griffiths - All Wales Mental Health Network Co-ordinator
  • Mark Boulter (Dr) – GP Carmethenshire (Chair WaMH in PC)
  • Melanie Laidler - Service Manager for Integrated Health and Social Care Newport City Council
  • Mike Newberry - Mental Health Specialist, Lundbeck UK
  • Mutale Merrill - Vice Chair of Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
  • Peryn Morgan - Clinical Nurse Leader, Primary Care Mental Health Liaison Service
  • Peter Martin - National Policy Coordinator Hafal (Vice Chair WaMH in PC)
  • Phill Chick – Mental Health Development Lead for Wales NLIAH (National Leadership and Innovation Agency for Healthcare)
  • Ruth Coombes – Manager for Influence and Change Mind Cymru
  • Sally Venn (Dr) - GP Abertillery
  • Seren Haf Roberts (Dr) - Research Fellow, Bangor University
  • Simon Braybrook - GP
  • Tony Downes (Dr) – GPwSI Primary Care Mental Health Services & freelance GP

Any person wanting to become a new member must apply to the Chair providing their relevant details with further information available via email at or on 029 2050 4516